The DAR has a rich history in Mitchell.  The Nancy Peabody Chapter NSDAR was organized on December 19, 1920, with 20 organizing members.  

In 1933, the Nancy Peabody Chapter NSDAR placed a seven-ton native boulder with inscribed bronze tablet one and a half miles east of Mitchell on Highway No 16.  It marks the site of the junction of the Fort Thompson Trail, the first mail route of the James River Valley and the Fort Thompson Trail much used in the Black Hills gold rush. Close to this junction was Firesteel, the pioneer settlement and trading post from 1874-1880. About fifty rods north close to the Jimtown Trail is the site of the first frame house in Davison County built in 1873 and served as the Firesteel post office.

Firesteel Rock

The Nancy Peabody Chapter NSDAR disbanded in the early 1970s.

DAR Rock Front Page

DAR Rock Plaque

An organizational meeting was held on July 25, 2015, to form the Firesteel Chapter NSDAR. Five members and twenty prospective members attended and within the year eighteen had put in their applications and were approved as members of the Daughters of the American Revolution.  By February 2016, chapter bylaws were completed and approved.  Chapter names of The Mitchell Corn Palace, Sarah Ball, and Firesteel were considered, and Firesteel was selected.  On November 5, 2016, the Firesteel Chapter NSDAR was organized with 16 members and four state officers in attendance.  Officers were installed and Sharon Young, State Regent, announced the chapter duly organized. The Firesteel Chapter NSDAR was approved by the National Society on December 10, 2016.

Firesteel Charter Officers;
Regent: Anna Marie Bosma
Vice-Regent: Susan Christen
Chaplain:  Ann Morris
Recording Secretary: Mona Zirpel
Corresponding Secretary: Jeanine Bleeker
Treasurer:  Samantha Beeson
Registrar:  Verna Edinger
Historian:  Myrna Hayen July 2015, Deceased May 23, 2017
Librarian:   Lisa Bishop

Charter Members: 
Lucy Lee Hysell-McCullam Atteberry
Samantha Summers Beeson
Lisa Ann Leniuis Bishop
Jeanine Thelma Egland Bleeker
AnnaMarie Glantz Bosma
Margo Jolene Bosma
Susan Christen
Betty Adams Christensen
Verna Leigh Lutz Edinger
Teresa Marie Christen Fortier
Laurie Jean Jorgensen Garry
Sheilah Irene Smith Gates
Myrna Lou Schulz Hayen
Nancy Ann Adams Kirchmeier
Ann Yvette Moore Morris
Andrea Jean Harmes Sindt
Alexis Christen Stinton
Edna L Glantz Whetham
Mona Clydene Spear Zirpel